College of Law


Student Resources


Home Protected: CONGRATULATIONS MLS St. George MLS Students

 

Orientation & Start of 2022 Fall Semester

A "Nuts and Bolts" webinar is scheduled to take place on Thursday, August 4 from 12:30 - 1:30 PM (MT). New Student Orientation will be held on Saturday, August 20, 2022 and is mandatory for all MLS students to attend. The first day of MLS classes is Friday, August 26, 2022. More information about New Student Orientation will be forthcoming.

Students enrolled in the St. George Campus Program will attend Orientation and classes with the in-person program cohort via technology at the St. George Graduate Center located at 1071 East 100 South, Suite A100, St. George, UT 84770.

In addition, there may be assigned reading and online programing associated with Orientation to prepare students for the start of classes. This programing will become available in July, and while it will not be in-person programing, you will need to dedicate time to complete the reading and engage with the online presentations. More information will be forthcoming.

 


Academic Requirements for the MLS

The following are the basic requirements for graduation.

ENROLLMENT
In order to be considered full-time graduate students, MLS students must be enrolled for a minimum of nine credit hours during the fall and spring semesters and six credit hours in the summer semester. Enrollment for less than the full-time minimum requires approval of the MLS Program Director, who will consult with the Associate Dean for Student Affairs and the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs before giving such an authorization. No candidate for an MLS degree is permitted to register for more than 16 credit hours in any single semester without approval from the MLS Program Director, who will consult with the Associate Dean for Student Affairs and the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs before giving such approval.

A TOTAL OF 30 SEMESTER HOURS AND A 3.0 CUMULATIVE GPA
MLS students are required to maintain a 3.0 or higher cumulative GPA to be considered in good standing with the program. If a student’s GPA falls below this minimum requirement at any time, the student will be on academic probation and will be required to meet with the MLS Program Director and the Associate Dean for Student Affairs for academic advising. The MLS Program Director and Associate Dean for Student Affairs have authority to impose conditions and requirements on the student to ensure compliance with this GPA minimum. Failure to satisfy or comply with the conditions or requirements imposed by the MLS Program Director and Associate Dean for Student Affairs may result in dismissal from the program.

REQUIRED COURSES FOR ST. GEORGE CAMPUS MLS PROGRAM
All MLS courses listed below are required for graduation. NOTE: Students enrolled in the St. George Campus program do not have the option to switch MLS courses for JD courses.

Conflict and Legal Crisis Management
Legal Ethics in the Provision and Management of Legal Services
Legal Research and Writing for Non-Lawyers
he Regulatory System
Understanding Cases, Statutes, and Legislation
Business and IP Law in the Modern Economy
Comparative Legal Studies
Contracts in the Modern Economy
Criminal Law for MLS Students
Government, Private Property, and Land Use
Labor and Employment
Lawsuits and Litigation

OPTIONAL COURSE FOR ST. GEORGE CAMPUS MLS PROGRAM
Basic Mediation

REGISTRATION
Registration for each MLS student is administered by the College of Law Registrar. MLS students are automatically enrolled in all standard classes in the MLS curriculum and do not need to register for each class separately.

 


Tentative 2022-2023 MLS Class Schedule by Semester

FALL SEMESTER CLASSES*

Conflict and Legal Crisis Management

Lawsuits and Litigation
Legal Research and Writing for Non-Lawyers
Understanding Cases, Statutes, and Legislation
*subject to change without notice

FALL SEMESTER CLASS DATES
Friday, August 26, 2022 – Saturday, August 27, 2022
Friday, September 9, 2022 – Saturday, September 10, 2022
Friday, September 23, 2022 – Saturday, September 24, 2022
Friday, October 7, 2022 – Saturday, October 8, 2022
Friday, October 21, 2022 – Saturday, October 22, 2022
Friday, November 4, 2021 – Saturday, November 5, 2022
Friday, November 18, 2022 – Saturday, November 19, 2022
Friday, December 2, 2022 – Saturday, December 3, 2022

SPRING SEMESTER CLASSES*
Basic Mediation
Business and IP in the Modern Economy
Comparative Legal Studies
Contracts in the Modern Economy
The Regulatory System
*subject to change without notice

SPRING SEMESTER CLASS DATES
Friday, January 6, 2023 – Saturday, January 7, 2023
Friday, January 20, 2023 – Saturday, January 21, 2023
Friday, February 3, 2023 – Saturday, February 4, 2023
Friday, February 24, 2023 – Saturday, February 25, 2023
Friday, March 3, 2023 – Saturday, March 4, 2023
Friday, March 17, 2023 – Saturday March 18, 2023
Friday, March 31, 2023 – Saturday, April 1, 2023
Friday, April 14, 2023 – Saturday, April 15, 2023

SUMMER SEMESTER CLASSES*
Criminal Law for MLS Students
Government, Private Property, and Land Use
Legal Ethics in the Provision and Management of Legal Services
Labor and Employment
*subject to change without notice

SUMMER SEMESTER CLASS DATES
Friday, May 19, 2023 – Saturday, May 20, 2023
Friday, June 2, 2023 – Saturday, June 3, 2023
Friday, June 16, 2023 – Saturday, June 17, 2023
Friday, June 23, 2023 – Saturday, June 24, 2023
Friday, July 7, 2023 – Saturday, July 8, 2023
Friday, July 14, 2023 – Saturday, July 15, 2023
Friday, July 28, 2023 – Saturday, July 29, 2023

Capstone Retreat: Friday, August 11, 2023 - Saturday, August 12, 2023