College of Law


Quick Links


Student Resources


Home LABS

""

Health Law Ranked #32 in the U.S. News & World Report

LABS is a dynamic, interdisciplinary group of faculty and students engaged in research and teaching about law and the biomedical sciences.  We feature expertise in law and health, health and human rights, disability, bioethics, genetics, neuroscience, evidence, torts, privacy, food and drug law, public health law, biotechnology, cognitive psychology, and intellectual property. We are committed to explaining and improving the law in these rapidly evolving fields to help overcome the critical health challenges of our times.

The SJ Quinney College of Law course offerings in health law include health law, FDA law, colloquium in law and the biosciences, law and neuroscience, law and genetics, and law and the opioid epidemic.  We also offer a colloquium in law and the biosciences, a range of courses in IP law, and a colloquium in law and the biosciences.  We have a variety of externship opportunities for students in health law, IP law, and law and the biosciences. The College of Law also offers a certificate of specialized study in Intellectual Property Law.

COURSES


The College of Law offers courses, seminars, and field placements in areas of study relevant to law and the biosciences, including:

  • Health Law
  • Law and Bioethics
  • Genetics and Law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Patent Law
  • Patent Drafting
  • Intellectual Property Licensing
  • Food and Drug Law
  • Disability Law
  • Health Law Field Placement
  • New Ventures Clinic
  • Seminar on Law and the Opioid Crisis
  • Colloquium on Law and the Biosciences
  • Seminar on Law and Neuroscience

FACULTY & STAFF


Leslie Francis

Dist. Alfred C. Emery Prof. of Law, Dist. Prof. of Philosophy, Director, LABS
 801-582-4289
 francisl@law.utah.edu

Teneille R Brown

Professor, College Of Law
 801-581-5883
 teneille.brown@law.utah.edu

Jorge Contreras

Professor, College Of Law
 801-587-5471
 jorge.contreras@law.utah.edu

Erika George

Samuel D. Thurman Professor of Law, College of Law
 801-581-7358
 erika.george@law.utah.edu

Dianna Cannon

Adjunct Professor
 801-322-2121
 dianna@cannondisability.com

James (Jim) Ruble

Adjunct Associate Professor
 801-581-4514
 Jim.ruble@hsc.utah.edu

Cynthia Lane

Administrative Assistant
 801-581-5050
 cynthia.lane@law.utah.edu
""

For the seventh year in a row, the College of Law retained its position as a top 10 program for environmental law. Several other specialty programs also secured notable placements, including criminal law at #30; intellectual property at #33, and health law at #32 in the nation.

LABS ALUMNI


INTERESTED IN LABS?