Only library materials located on the first floor of the building are accessible to campus and public patrons. Books located on other floors can be retrieved for patrons by a member of our staff; please ask for assistance at one of the service desks on level 1 or 2. We will make every effort to retrieve materials in a timely manner but cannot guarantee instant access.
Borrowing privileges are extended to University of Utah faculty, staff, students, faculty and students of Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) member institutions, members of the judiciary and bar and their authorized employees, and paid permit users. Users must have a current University of Utah ID, a UALC member college ID, a Utah Bar membership card, or a library permit to check out materials. Changes of address or other borrower information should be reported to Circulation. Lost or stolen ID cards or library permits should be reported immediately. For more information, see the Library Circulation Policy.
Books can be checked out in person at the first or second-floor service desk. Members of campus may also use the self-checkout machine located on the first floor near the compact shelving.
Theft or mutilation of library materials may result in criminal liability under Utah Code Ann. §§76-6-801 et seq. and §76-6-412, as well as civil damages.
Please see our Circulation Policy for information on loan periods and fines for overdue, damaged, or lost items.
All materials are subject to recall. Borrowers are assured a minimum fourteen-day check out privilege for most items. Beyond this period, recalled items must be returned within ten days from the date of recall. Fines accrue the first day the item is overdue and will accrue until the item is returned. Computer-generated recall notices based on these calculations will be emailed to the borrower.
Materials more than 30 days overdue are declared LOST, and the cost of replacement is charged to the borrower. The cost of replacement includes a $10.00 non-refundable processing fee.
Items which borrowers report having returned will be searched for promptly and thoroughly. If the books are not found, the borrower will be charged for the cost of replacement.
Unpaid library accounts may result in holds being placed on student records (registration, transcripts, re-admission). Borrowers who have outstanding fines or materials will be unable to checkout out library materials until all records are cleared and may be reported to the Bar Association (if applicable) or held civilly liable.
Questions regarding overdue charges or bills should be directed to Circulation (801-581-6438 or email@example.com).
Searches may be placed for books that are not checked out but cannot be found on the shelf. Library users may obtain a list of books currently checked out to them by logging in to their library account or asking at one of the service desks.
Receipts for returned items may be requested at the time the items are returned at the service desk. Lost and found items will be held at the service desk on level one for approximately one month before being turned over to the University lost and found.
A hold will be placed on borrowing privileges for anyone with overdue material. Courtesy reminders will be emailed one week before an item is due and again a week later. If the item is not returned within twenty-eight days, the item will be billed for replacement. The bill for replacement will include the price of the item plus a $10.00 non-refundable processing fee. In the event a price cannot be established, a predetermined replacement amount (based on the material type, purchase price and the item’s popularity) is charged per item. Failure to receive courtesy notices in no way relieves the borrower’s obligation to return the item by the date it is due. Responsibility is assigned to the borrower whose name appears on the ID card used for checkout. A registration hold or referral to a collection agency may result if a borrower’s fines are not resolved.
Items may be renewed in person at one of the service desks or by phoning 801-581-6438. It is the responsibility of the borrower to be aware of due dates. Requests for renewal must be received before the items are marked as lost and the patron is billed for replacement.
Document delivery is a fee-based service available to the public. Document delivery refers to materials that are available at the James E. Faust Law Library which library staff will retrieve and email upon request. Please see the Document Delivery Request Form for more information and fee schedule, then email the completed form to firstname.lastname@example.org to place a request. This service is provided at no charge to S.J. Quinney College of Law alumni.
ILL (Interlibrary Loan):
Interlibrary loan is a service provided by the law library to specific patron groups who need a copy of a journal article, newspaper article, conference proceedings, or for those who want to borrow a book, video, or microform that is not available from one of the University of Utah libraries.
The law library provides interlibrary loan service to the College of Law community only which includes law faculty, law students, law staff, Utah Bar members, and visiting scholars who have an active circulation account with the James E. Faust Law Library. All other campus community members desiring to make an interlibrary loan request should contact the Marriott or Eccles Health Sciences libraries.
Members of the Utah Bar using this service are responsible for any borrowing fees imposed by lending libraries. See ILL FAQ.
Public patrons should contact their local public library to make an ILL request.
Anyone who does not have a current University of Utah ID, a UALC member college ID, or a Utah Bar membership card must obtain either a free permit or a paid permit to check out materials. Please note: Many of our items, including case reporters, statute volumes, treatises, and journals do not circulate. Please check the spine of the item to see if it can be checked out or ask at one of the service desks.
To Obtain a Paid Permit:
- Visit the service desk on level 1.
- Complete a patron registration form. You will be required to provide a valid e-mail address and/or phone number.
- Submit the proper form of ID. The staff member at the desk will assist you.
- Pay the $100 fee for a non-transferable permit. Credit cards preferred; checks also accepted.
University of Utah Libraries paid permit holders may check out 40 items total from any of the three libraries. Any item may be renewed up to four times. If you still require the item after four renewals, please bring it to one of the library service desks. If there are no holds or recalls on the item, you may be permitted to check it out again. Paid permits are valid for one year and allow 365 consecutive days of usage, with borrowing privileges at all University of Utah libraries. Borrowing privileges are limited to circulating items only.
Please see the “Borrowing Books” section for additional circulation information. If you have any questions, contact us at 801-581-6438. We look forward to seeing you in the library.
Books should NOT be reshelved. Please leave unwanted materials on tables or bring them to the service desk on level 1 or 2.