TUITION & FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Tuition for the in-person and online MLS programs is paid on a semester-by-semester basis. Tuition is based on 10 credit hours of enrollment. Summer term is subject the tuition rate increase approved by the Utah State Board of Higher Education. Utah residents pay the same tuition rate for the in-person and the online program. Tuition may vary for those who take fewer or more than the prescribed number of credit hours. The table below identifies tuition cost by program and residency status.
Tuition Cost for 2022-23
|Program||Residency Status||Fall Semester||Spring Semester||Summer Term*||Total Tuition|
|St. George Distance Program||Resident||$11,030||$11,030||$11,030||$33,090|
*Summer term tuition is subject to the tuition rate increase approved by the Utah State Board of Higher Education. Costs reflected here include all University assessed student fees.
** U of U employees taking advantage of the tuition benefit or students choosing online flex will be charged in-person rates plus any applied benefit.
The S.J. Quinney College of Law provides a high-quality education at a competitive cost, both in terms of tuition and cost of living. The typical student can meet the cost of the MLS program with a financial aid package that may include loans guaranteed by the federal government and a small amount of personal savings or a family contribution. The University of Utah requires students wishing to be considered for financial aid to submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). By submitting the FAFSA, a need analysis is conducted and this includes determining the amount a student can be expected to contribute to his or her educational costs. Information about the FAFSA and Federal Student Loan Programs can be found at fafsa.ed.gov.
Utah Residency Requirements
Students classified as nonresidents are required to pay non-resident tuition. A person who enrolls as a post-secondary student at a Utah institution prior to living in Utah for more than 12 continuous months as a nonstudent is presumed to have moved to Utah for the purpose of attending an institution of higher education and is a nonresident for tuition purposes. Residency reclassification petitions should be submitted at least 45 days before the beginning of fall semester. More information on residency may be obtained from the University’s Residency Office at 801.581.8761 or admissions.utah.edu/apply/residency/. Once a student matriculates as a non-resident for tuition purposes, that non-resident status will not be changed for the student while enrolled in the College of Law.