College of Law

Quick Links

Student Resources


Awards are given in recognition of a specific achievement (papers, GPAs, grades or outstanding work) and may or may not include a cash component.

Academic Awards
At the end of each academic year, the students in each class with the top GPA’s will be provided with the following awards: Dean’s Award (awarded to the student with the highest GPA in the class), Faculty Award (awarded to the second highest GPA in the class), College Award (awarded to the third highest GPA in the class), Barrister’s Award (awarded to the fourth highest GPA in the class) and the Quinney Award (awarded to the fifth highest GPA in the class).  In case of ties, students with the same GPA will receive the same award.

CALI Awards
The purpose of the CALI award is to recognize academic excellence in legal education. CALI recognizes students who receive the highest grade in a course. There are no restrictions on the number of courses or the number of students within a course. The only restriction is that all courses be law-related and taught within the law school.

David T. Lewis Clinical Award
Awards are given each year to graduating seniors who have outstanding achievement in the Clinical Program. The clinical director, with the advice of a committee chosen by her, makes the awards. Nominations may come from faculty, clinical supervisors, or students may nominate themselves. A cash award of approximately $100 is presented to each recipient. The deadline for nominations is generally the end of spring semester.

Edwin Brown Firmage Student Award in International Law and Human Rights
This award honors a student who has demonstrated strong academic achievement and an ongoing commitment to international law and human rights issues through coursework, extracurricular activities, volunteer participation, and/or previous experience. The award is open to current second- or third-year students. The dean of students announces when applications will be accepetd, usually spring semester.

Graduation with Honors
Students may graduate with honors based on cumulative GPA at graduation as follows: Highest Honors (3.8 and above), High Honors (3.6 and above), and Honors (3.4 and above).

Minority Law Caucus Awards
The Minority Law Caucus awards are awarded to MLC members in good academic standing. The MLC selection committee considers a variety of factors, which may include contributions to the community and financial need. Awards are generally awarded in the late spring.

National Association of Women Lawyers Award
The NAWL awards a one-year honorary membership and a year’s subscription to the NAWL Law Journal to an outstanding law graduate who has demonstrated academic achievement, motivation, tenacity, and drive; who exhibits promise for future contributions to the advancement of women in society; and presents a personable and professional image. The Dean’s Office chooses the recipient.

Order of the Coif
The Order of the Coif is a national society founded to encourage legal scholarship and advance the ethical standards of the profession. Each year, the faculty confers membership on students who place in the highest 10 percent of their graduating class. To be eligible, a student must receive graded credit for at least three-quarters of the total number of hours required for graduation. (Under the current requirement of 88 hours, a minimum of 66 graded hours satisfies requirements regardless of how many hours a student may have accumulated prior to graduation.)

Reva Beck Bosone Award
The Women’s Law Caucus sponsors this $1,000 award given to a first- or second-year student who is a member of the Women’s Law Caucus and who is in good academic standing. A WLC selection committee considers the candidate’s contributions and potential to make a significant contribution in a field of importance to women. The WLC announces when applications will be accepted, currently early fall semester.

Robert Schmid Natural Resources Writing Award
The student who writes the best paper on a natural resources-related topic is awarded $250. The faculty nominates papers, and the Faculty Awards Committee chooses the recipient.

S.J. Quinney College of Law Outstanding Achievement Award
The Outstanding Achievement Award certificate is given in each graded course (other than seminars) with an enrollment of at least 12 students. The course professor selects the student whose work is deemed the most outstanding. In the event of a tie, the professor will attempt to select a single winner. If the selection process does not produce one winner, co-winners will be accepted (but no more than two).

Stephen Pierre Traynor Legal Writing Award
The Traynor Legal Writing Award annually recognizes outstanding writing by an advanced student. The recipient receives $700. The faculty nominates student, law review, or journal papers, which, after editing, remain substantially the work of the student. The Faculty Awards Committee chooses the recipient.

Steven Magleby Memorial Law Student Award
This award presents a monetary stipend and award to an outstanding student who demonstrates a devotion to furthering the rights of people with disabilities.

Utah Civil Rights and Liberties Writing Award
The $300 Utah Civil Rights and Liberties Award is given to the student who writes the best research paper in a class or seminar on the First Amendment, or in a comparable class that requires a research paper. The faculty nominates student papers and the Faculty Awards Committee chooses the recipient.

William H. Leary Scholars
Leary scholars are students whose grades place them in the top 20 percent of their class. For first-year students, the Leary selection is made following the completion of first-year courses. For second- and third-year students, designations are made following each semester and are based solely on that semester’s grades. To be eligible for a given semester, a student must complete no fewer than 12 credit hours, 10 of which must be graded.